Saturday, May 24, 2014

Silenced~Book 4 in the Alaskan Courage Series (by Dani Pettrey)

A relaxing day of rock climbing takes a disturbing turn when Kayden McKenna’s route leads her to a face-to-face encounter with a dead climber. Is it a terrible accident or something sinister? When the case is handed to the overburdened sheriff, he turns to Jake Westin. With Jake’s past now revealed, he’s ready to use his talent for investigation again-–but he could never prepare for where the case will take him.
Kayden and Jake soon realize that the death was no accident. And worse, it seems the killer is on to them. When strange things begin happening in Yancey, Jake is terrified that once again his world may put someone he loves in danger.
But the truth is far worse than either of them imagine.

So begins the little blurb on the back cover of the book "Silenced" by Dani Pettrey. It is the 4th and next to last book in the Alaskan Courage Series. It is a book that was anticipated eagerly by many of Dani's fans and it features the romance of Jake and Kayden amidst a backdrop of a mountain climbing mystery. Both Kayden, who is fiercely independent and Jake who was a man of mystery (at least until book 3) work together to solve the mystery. It will not spoil anything to say that starting in Book 1 (Submerged) there was mistrust by Kayden regarding the mystery of Jake. It has been fun to see how that has developed and changed into a deeper relationship. 

    If you read my prior post regarding this series I will reiterate that:
 1) I love to read (especially suspense and adventure).
 2) Romance stories are not a drawing card for me.
 3) I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in return for an honest review of the book. 

That being said I will say that I love this series. It has grown on me and I have looked forward to each book. I was not disappointed by "Silenced".  It starts strong and ends well. It has all the elements of suspense, adventure and (sigh) romance. As I mentioned though I did enjoy seeing the relationship change and grow between Kayden and Jake. The writing is paced well and it was the type of book that I did not want to put down. When I was finished I was sad that it had come to an end. In fact that would be my only negative critique of the book- the end wrapped up very quickly and then it was over. Other than that hiccup I was hooked from the beginning. I love the element of Faith that each of these novels contain. They are woven well into the fabric of the story and never seem forced. This one resounded deeply with me as it was about learning from your mistakes and being able to move on. I like that each book stands alone but it is also great to see the characters and relationships develop as the series continues. If I had to rate it out of 5 stars it would be 4.5! However I encourage you to pick up a copy and decide for yourself.

Friday, May 23, 2014

Alaskan Courage Book Series

     I love to read~ I will pretty much try any genre but am drawn to adventure and suspense type novels. I love trying to figure out the ending before we even get there. The book is successful in my eyes if it can keep me guessing or has enough plot twists that even if I have guessed the ending I love the journey getting there. Now add in the fact that it might be Christian fiction and that is even better. I love stories of discovery and faith. Seeing a character grow in faith or even be redeemed will make a story even better for me.  Romance? I am a guy so I can live with it but it is not what will draw me to the book.

     All of that being said allow me to introduce you to series I have discovered. It is called the Alaskan Courage Series and is written by Dani Pettrey. I will add a disclaimer that she is a member of my church which is the way that I found out about these books. Standing in front of these books in a bookstore or library I would not have necessarily picked one of them up. That is a bias on my part only as I would have thought they were girl type books. However since the author is someone I knew I figured I would get the first one out of the library and see what it was like. I have fallen in love with the series. Each book can stand alone but I recommend reading them in order as they tend to build on each other. They are about the McKenna family who own "Last Frontier Adventures" a shop that outfits and supplies excursion type adventures. Each book has a mystery/suspense type element as well as exploring the relationships of different family members. There are romantic angles in each story that actually I have found interesting. It has been fun watching them develop and grow through each book. I rapidly read and enjoyed "Submerged", "Shattered" and "Stranded". My favorite of those three would have to be the last~"Stranded". After all I love cruises and this formed the perfect backdrop for this story. Book 4 is called "Silenced" and was just released this month. I asked to be an reviewer of this new book and did get a free copy from the publisher in return for an honest review. That will be my next post and will be released tomorrow. Today the last and final book in this series was announced. It will hit the shelves in Spring of 2015 and is called "Sabotaged".  It's adventure aspect will be based during the Iditarod. Frankly I cannot wait.

       I encourage you to check out one of the books and see what you think. In the heat of summer picking up a book that takes place in Alaska might be just what you need. If you are a fan I also encourage you to check out her website for some great extras and fun things. In the meantime happy reading.